was established in 1980 by the Canadian marine science community to recognize excellence of research and outstanding contributions to marine sciences. It is presented by the Royal Society of Canada. The award honours marine scientists of any nationality who have had and continue to have a significant influence on the course of marine scientific thought. The Award is named in honour of Archibald Gowanlock Huntsman (1883– 1973), a pioneer Canadian oceanographer and fishery biologist.

The A.G. Huntsman Award was established through initial principal contributions from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Province of Nova Scotia, and the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.  Additional endowment was later granted from the LiFT Family Fund through Gift Funds Canada.

The Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia is Honorary Patron of the A.G. Huntsman Award.



Deadline for submission of letter-of-intent is March 31, 2023


The 2022 A.G. Huntsman Medal was awarded to Uta Passow in recognition of her significant contributions to our understanding of the ocean and its ability to respond to anthropogenic changes such as climate change and oil pollution.



The ceremony was held at Government House under the patronage of the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia on November 17, 2022.

 - Photos

 - Video recording of ceremony


Front (L to R)

Dr. Uta Passow (Memorial University), His Honour The Honourable Arthur J. LeBlanc, ONS, KC, Her Honour Mrs. Patsy LeBlanc, Sabine Sparwasser Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Canada.

Back (L to R)

Dr. Anya Waite (Dalhousie University), Dr. Julia Wright (Royal Society of Canada), Dr. Alice Ortmann (Huntsman Foundation), Dr. Blair Greenan (Bedford Institute of Oceanography)



The photograph on the website header shows CSS Hudson in Scott Inlet, Baffin Island, on September 6, 1977. The cliffs in the background are 300 or more metres high. In th fall of 1976, Bedford Institute of Oceanography scientists had observed an oil slick off the Inlet but because of ice conditions at the time they were unable to locate its source or to determine its extent. So in 1977 and again in 1978, CSS Hudson returned to measure the background levels of petroleum residues in the eastern Arctic and also to investigate the geology of the Baffin Island shelf. Together, the chemical and geological studies demonstrated that the slick at Scott Inlet is the result of natural seepage of petroleum from the walls and bottom of the submarine trough that cuts across the continental shelf in this area. This image of CSS Hudson appears on the Huntsman Medal. [Photograph by Roger Belanger, Crown Copyright]